Softskill Plans and Improvement

As Studio 1 began, I became focused on the work that presented to me. Throughout Project 1 I focused too heavily on creating art assets and throughout Project 2 I prioritised the completion of group work over personal work.

My problem was that I didn’t have any personal management. Whenever I had time free to work on something, I found that I spent a lot of time just figuring out what I needed to work on. I always knew what group work I had to do, thanks to Hack n Plan, but when it came to write Dev Diaries or report my work, I struggled.

To help remedy this, I created a personal Hack n Plan where I listed all of the work that I had left to do. Anything from Dev Diaries to Audio to Scripting were placed in the Hack n Plan. It was a valuable tool for organising my free time and making me far more effective at completing my work.

It allows me to track my remaining work and monitor my week-to-week work ethic. The time spent updating Hack n Plan is more than made up for by the amount of time I save when finding something I want to work on.

I also attempted to use a work calendar, along side Hack n Plan. I found it useful at the start but, once I had memorised the times that I had set aside to work, I found myself not using it very often. I found that I worked better when I kept Hack n Plan opening, using it as a visual reminder of all of the work I had to do.

I plan on using Hack n Plan as often as possible. As it is now, Hack n Plan has been a valuable tool in helping me finish all the work that I needed to do. Additionally, I believe that, once I am more familiar with Hack n Plan, I can gain the benefits of a work calendar from Hack n Plan as well.

Leave a Reply

